Emily Howell Earns Leadership Award at Louies StudentAthlete Awards Show

first_imgFreshman of the YearMen: Bartosz Piszczorowicz (swimming and diving)Female: Violette Legrand (rowing) Humble & Hungry AwardCelene Funke (softball) Junior of the YearMale: Christopher Morin-Kougoucheff (men’s tennis)Female: Dorcas Wasike (cross country) Ed Kallay Senior of the YearMale: Tate Schmitt (men’s soccer)Female: Ayeisha McFerran (field hockey) Outstanding Senior Pep Band Award Kayla Goodman Moment of the Year Mallory Comerford winning her third national championship LOUISVILLE, Ky. – The University of Louisville athletics department relished in the successes of all of its teams and student-athletes on Monday night at The Louies Student-Athletes Awards Show.Former women’s lacrosse All-ACC performer Emily Howell earned the UPS Female Leadership Award.Howell graduated last spring with a degree in biology. She had a 4.0 grade point average in her final semester and a career 3.788 GPA. She was named Athletic Director Honor Roll, Red and Black Scholar and Dean’s Scholar in 2018.A team captain, Howell was named Second Team All-ACC, IWLCA All-Region Second Team and an IWLCA Senior All-Star following her senior season. She led the ACC in ground balls per game, scooping up 2.88 each contest. She led the Cardinals with 46 total ground balls and her 128 career ground balls rank third in program history. Her 1.06 caused turnovers per game and her 2.44 draw controls per game ranked second on the team.The full list of awards is below:adidas High Performance Athlete of the YearMale: Nicolas Albiero (swimming and diving)Female: Mallory Comerford (swimming and diving) and Asia Durr (women’s basketball) L1C4 Award Arica Carter (women’s basketball) Comeback Player of the YearEmina Ekic (women’s soccer) UPS Leadership AwardMale: Christen Cunningham (men’s basketball)Female: Emily Howell (women’s lacrosse) Highest Senior GPAAbigail Wright (track and field) Highest Team GPAWomen’s Swimming and DivingPrint Friendly Version Sophomore of the YearMale: Logan Wyatt (baseball)Female: Mercedes Pastor (field hockey) Kentucky Farm Bureau CardsCARE TeamField Hockey Best Championship Performance Women’s Swimming and Diving Outstanding Senior Ladybird Award Sydney Thompson Outstanding Senior Cheer Award Emily Mattey Kentucky Farm Bureau CardsCARE IndividualNoah McBride (track and field)Emily Corso (rowing) Story Links Record-Breaking PerformanceSimon Zach (men’s golf) Breakthrough AthleteCelene Funke (softball)Jordan Nwora (men’s basketball)last_img