Edwin Allen, KC shine in sprints at Gibson McCook – ‘Purples’ win three of four 4×100 metres for high school boys

first_imgEdwin Allen High and Kingston College dominated the sprint relays at the 43rd Gibson Relays at the National Stadium yesterday.The defending ISSA/GraceKennedy Girls’ Champions smashed the first two records in the high school section. Their Class Two girls team, with star sprinter Kevona Davis in top form, stopped the clock at 44.75 seconds to erase the old mark of 45.01 set by the school’s 2015 team and Vere Technical High School way back in 2001.St Jago finished second in 45.26 while Holmwood Technical rounded out the top three with 46.16. In Class Three, the girls from Frankfield in Clarendon lowered their mark from last year’s 44.76 to 44.59 seconds. Holmwood were second in 45.61 while Manchester High were third in 46.92.St Jago won the Class One 4×100 metres in 45.62 ahead of Holmwood (45.87) while Edwin Allen took third in 46.25. LATE RUN Holmwood came with a late run to claimed the Class Four title in 48.86 seconds with Immaculate Conception High School finishing close behind in 48.90. Edwin Allen rounded out the field with 49.01. In the boys’ section, Kingston College showed a glimpse of their growing dominance in the sprint events by winning three of the four 4×100 metres relays. Their Class Two boys high- profile team, which included Terrique Stennett, Nkrumie Bouwahgie, and Adrian Kerr ran 41.18 seconds. Calabar High were second in 41.48 while St Jago High School rounded out the top three with 42.37.In Class Three, the ‘Purples’ blitzed to 43.71 to beat Calabar and pre-race favourites Jamaica College. Calabar registered a time of 43.84 while JC got 43.95.The Class Four boys had a stroll in the park as they won by more than a second. They registered 45.64 to St Jago’s 47.05. JC rounded out the-top three field with 47.39.There was great disappointment for Calabar in the Class One boys sprint relay. They crossed the finish line first but were later disqualified for a lane violation. Wolmer’s Boys School were the eventual winners in 40.50. St Jago got second with 40.54 while KC were third with 40.59.last_img